Думи мoï x François Chaignaud

VLOVAJOB PRU Company - France

A former performer of Boris Charmatz, Emmanuelle Huynh, Alain Buffard and Gilles Jobin, he created the company VLOVAJOB PRU in 2005 with the dancer Cecilia Bengolea. His research fields range from the forerunners of early 20th century choreographic modernity (François Malkovsky, Isadora Duncan) to the current avant-garde, and from the techniques and symbols of classical ballet to urban and non-urban dances. Scenic.

With Думи мої*, a solo inspired by the sacred dances of the ritual of theyyam in the Malabar, François Chaignaud offers us an ambulatory performance that oscillates and mixes recital and dance. Dressed in spectacular costume-sculpture created by the couturier Romain Brau, it leads us in a series of metamorphoses through songs inspired by the medieval repertoire but also of Filipino, Sephardic and Ukrainian cultures.

François Chaignaud thought of this show as an antidote to the rituals of Western theatre. Thus, in an enclosed place, without a bleacher, stage and in motion, an intimacy is created where the spectators will enjoy as close as the gesture danced, the excessiveness of the costumes and the polymorphic voice of the artist.

The short form of performance in a singular space is an invitation to change our habits as spectators while making us enter a walk that falls under the magazine.

*Думи моï pronounces Dumy Moyi

© Clementine Crochet, 2017

Думи мoï x François Chaignaud

Compagnie VLOVAJOB PRU – France

Ancien interprète de Boris Charmatz, Emmanuelle Huynh, Alain Buffard et Gilles Jobin, il crée en 2005, avec la danseuse Cecilia Bengolea, la compagnie VLOVAJOB PRU. Ses terrains de recherche s’étendent des précurseurs de la modernité chorégraphique du début du XXème siècle (François Malkovsky, Isadora Duncan) aux avant-gardes actuelles, et des techniques et symboliques du ballet classique aux danses urbaines et non scéniques.

Avec Думи мої*, solo inspiré des danses sacrées du rituel de theyyam dans le Malabar, François Chaignaud nous propose une performance déambulatoire qui oscille et mêle le récital et la danse. Paré de costume-sculpture spectaculaires crées par le couturier Romain Brau, il nous entraine dans une série de métamorphoses au long de chants inspirés du répertoire médiéval mais aussi des cultures philippine, séfarade et ukrainienne.

François Chaignaud a pensé ce spectacle comme un antidote aux rituels du théâtre occidental. Ainsi dans un lieu clos, sans gradin, ni scène et en mouvement, se crée une intimité où les spectateurs-trices jouiront au plus proche, de la délicatesse du geste dansé, de la démesure des costumes et de la voix polymorphe de l’artiste.

La forme courte de la performance dans un espace singulier est une invitation à bouleverser nos habitudes de spectateurs-trices tout en nous faisant entrer dans une déambulation qui relève de la revue.

*Думи моï se prononce Dumy Moyi

© Clementine Crochet, 2017