Mr. K. x Jérôme Marin & Antoine Bernollin

France

Created in 2001, Monsieur K. is a musical show, a chaotic and imaginary ballad in the cabaret song. He first performed texts by Bertoldt Brecht and in 2006 launched his own repertoire. He is joined by the musician and composer, Antoine Bernollin, who wears the clothes of Mr. Anna Petrovna and now accompanies him on the piano.

Making a certain tradition of cabaret song (from the Black Cat to the Berlin Cabaret, from the Café concert to the Cabaret "left bank"), Mr. K. has long taken his own path where the audience is never merely a spectator.

Thus, more than a staging, the Ball of Illusions is a "public release" and a performative approach to the recital. Leaving room for possible impromptu, creating game schemes with the audience to make him another stage partner.

It was there, after the number of the oriental dancer, that I entered the scene, blushed like an old Marquise who, after ten years of exile, would return to the court: the deft heel, the murderous smile, and this costume... hardly patched up.

Mr. K.

© Hervé Richaud, 2017.
© Hervé Richaud, 2017.

MONSIEUR K x Jérôme Marin & Antoine Bernollin

France

Créé en 2001, Monsieur K. est un spectacle musical, une ballade chaotique et imaginaire dans la chanson cabaret. Il interprète d’abord des textes de Bertoldt Brecht puis en 2006 lance son propre répertoire. Il est rejoint par le musicien et compositeur, Antoine Bernollin, qui revêt les habits de Monsieur Anna Petrovna et l’accompagne désormais au piano .

Faisant sienne une certaine tradition de la chanson cabaret (du Chat noir au Cabaret berlinois, en passant du Café concert au Cabaret « rive gauche »), Monsieur K. emprunte depuis longtemps sa propre voie où le public n’est jamais simplement spectateur.

Ainsi, plus qu’une mise en scène, le Bal des Illusions est une « mise en public » et une approche performative du récital. Laissant la place aux impromptues possibles, créant des stratagèmes de jeu avec le public pour faire de lui un autre partenaire de scène.

C’est là alors, après le numéro de la danseuse orientale, que j’entrais en scène, fardé comme une vieille marquise qui, après dix ans d’exil, reviendrait à la cour : le talon adroit, le sourire assassin, et ce costume… à peine rapiécé.

Monsieur K.

© Hervé Richaud, 2017.
© Hervé Richaud, 2017.